

MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE OKANAGAN WATER STEWARDSHIP COUNCIL HELD ON MAY 15, 2008 AT THE ROTARY CENTRE FOR THE ARTS, KELOWNA, BC

#### PRESENT:

Chair Tom Siddon Okanagan Partnership

Vice Chair Ted van der Gulik Ministry of Agriculture and Lands

Allison MacMillan Okanagan College
Dr. Bernie Bauer UBC Okanagan

Bob Hrasko Water Supply Association of BC

Dr. Brian Guy CWRA

Bryn White SOSCP

Rob Hawes (alternate) SOSCP

Dr. Denise Neilsen Agriculture Canada

Doug Geller BC Ground Water Association

Drew Kaiser CORD Environmental Advisory Committee

Gord Shandler

Grant Maddock

Urban Development Institute

BC Agriculture Council

Hans Buchler BC Agriculture Council

Hillary Hettinga Regional District of Central Okanagan
Brent Magnan (alternate) Regional District of Central Okanagan

Howie Wright Okanagan Nation Alliance

Jillian Tamblyn Regional Dist of Okanagan Similkameen
John Vos City of Kelowna – Works and Utilities

Ken CunninghamMinistry of Environment, Water StewardshipKendall WooEnvironment Canada – Pacific & Yukon RegionDan Millar (alternate)Environment Canada – Pacific & Yukon Region

Kerry Rouck Shuswap Okanagan Forestry Association

Lee Hesketh
Lorne Davies

Mike Adams

BC Cattlemen's Association
OCEOLA Fish and Game Club
Interior Health Authority

Anna Page Regional District of North Okanagan

Tricia Brett Greater Vernon Water Stewardship Committee

Stu Wells Community Futures

#### STAFF:

Dr. Anna Warwick Sears Executive Director, OBWB

Nelson Jatel Water Stewardship Director, OBWB Genevieve Dunbar Water Stewardship Coordinator, OBWB

# **OTHERS PRESENT:**

Kellie Bunting
Lorraine Bennest
Director, Okanagan Basin Water Board
John Slater
Chair, Okanagan Basin Water Board
Jennifer Miles
Masters Candidate, University of Alberta

Marlowe Sam Masters Candidate, University of BC – Okanagan

1

#### 1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER

Chair Tom Siddon Called the meeting to order at 9:10 am

#### 2. INTRODUCTION OF MEMBERS AND GUESTS

Chair Siddon welcomed regular members and guests, who introduced themselves to the group.

#### 3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

There were no late items or changes to the agenda

**Moved by Gord Shandler** 

Seconded by Brian Guy

"That the agenda for the May 15, 2008 meeting of the Okanagan Water Stewardship Council be approved as circulated."

#### CARRIED.

### 4. ADOPTION OF MINUTES

4.1 Minutes of a regular meeting of the Okanagan Water Stewardship Council held April 10<sup>th</sup>, 2008 at the Environmental Education Centre for the Okanagan in Mission Creek Regional Park.

Moved by Brian Guy

Seconded by Kerry Rouck

"That the minutes of the regular meeting of the Okanagan Water Stewardship Council held March 13, 2008 be adopted as circulated".

# CARRIED.

# 5. MEETING FORMAT AND EXPECTATIONS

Kellie Bunting of Insight Environmental and Nelson Jatel, Water Stewardship Director reviewed the format for the meeting, as this was a specially scheduled workshop to review the Sustainable Water Strategy document, in place of a regular Water Stewardship Council meeting.

# 6. INTRODUCTION TO THE OKANAGAN SUSTAINABLE WATER STRATEGY

Ms. Bunting reviewed the current accomplishments in creating the document and outlined the process of Chapter writing and review for the Water Stewardship Council. Most of the document editing up to this meeting had been completed by an editorial review committee, composed of Bob Hrasko (Chair), Bernie Bauer, Anna Warwick Sears, Nelson Jatel, Toby Pike, Hans Buchler, and Lorraine Bennest. Additional contributors are Tom Siddon and Ted van der Gulik and Kellie Bunting is the lead writer.

# 7. REVIEW GUIDING PRINCIPLES

- 8. GROUP BREAKOUT DISCUSSIONS: CHAPTERS 1 5
- 9. PRESENTATION FROM BREAK OUT DISCUSSION
- 10. LARGE GROUP DISCUSSION OF CHAPTERS 1 5
- 11. REVIEW PROJECT TIMELINES
- 12. MEETING OUTCOMES SUMMARY
- 13. <u>NEXT MEETING</u>

9.1 The next meeting date has been changed from June 12<sup>th</sup>, 2008 to **Thursday, June** 19<sup>th</sup> from 12:30 to 5:00 pm with the location to be determined. The change is to allow for Ms. Bunting to have more time to rework components of the Sustainable Water Strategy document before bringing it to the council again.

# 14. ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Ted van der Gulik

Seconded by Bob Hrasko

"That there being no further business, the meeting of the Okanagan Water Stewardship Council of May 15, 2008 be adjourned".

**CARRIED** 

Meeting adjourned at 4:50 pm