



9848 Aberdeen Road Coldstream, BC V1B 2K9 www.obwb.ca

Board Report November 4, 2008

OBWB Board Members

John Slater - Chair, Mayor of Osoyoos

Graham Reid - Vice Chair, Mayor of Peachland

Dan Ashton - City Councilor, Penticton

Lorraine Bennest - Councilor, District of Summerland

Patty Hanson - Director, Regional District Central Okanagan

Robert Hobson - City Councilor. Kelowna

Rick Fairbairn - Director, **Regional District North** Okanagan

Buffy Baumbrough - City Councilor, Vernon

Glen Taylor - Councilor, District of Coldstream

Toby Pike - Vice Chair, Water Supply Association of BC

Tom Siddon - Chair, Okanagan Water Stewardship Council

Timothy Manuel - Chiefs Executive Council, Okanagan Nation Alliance

Next meeting of the OBWB will be scheduled when new directors are appointed before February 3, 2009

Okanagan Basin Water Board Meeting Highlights

OBWB Directors: November 4th was the last meeting of the sitting directors of the Okanagan Basin Water Board. New directors will be appointed after the municipal elections on November 15. The occasion was marked with well wishes and warm thanks to Chair John Slater and Vice Chair Graham Reid who are leaving Okanagan local government.

Communication & Outreach: The One Watershed - One Water Conference co-hosted by the OBWB and Canadian Water Resources Association took place October 21-23. Over 200 delegates attended including water professionals, First Nations, students, politicians, International Joint Commission members and senior government staff. On Day One, 24 technical presentations covered topics from groundwater hydrology to climate change and endocrine disruptors. On Day Two, plenary speakers highlighted progress on Okanagan water science and management since 2005, and international considerations for the Basin. Day Three saw the public launch of the Sustainable Water Strategy-a comprehensive vision for water resource management. A panel discussion focused on how senior partners can support implementation of the Strategy.

At the conference, MP Ron Cannan announced the award of \$55,000 from the Gas Tax Innovations Fund to support the OBWB's Groundwater Bylaws toolkit. The first draft of the toolkit, which will support best management for groundwater resources throughout BC, has recently been completed. The document release is anticipated for early 2009.

OBWB Budget Approval: OBWB Directors approved the OBWB budget for 2009-10 . The budget includes funds for the renewal of the Water Conservation and Quality Improvement Grant program and other water management initiatives as well as support for watermilfoil control and sewage facilities financing.

OBWB Relocation: OBWB Directors approved a plan to relocate the OBWB's offices to the Central Okanagan Regional District after more than 20 years in the North Okanagan. Being centrally-located will help the OBWB better serve the needs of Okanagan communities from Armstrong to Osoyoos.

Watermilfoil Update: Watermilfoil derooting has begun in the Central Okanagan and is expected to be in full operation in the north of Okanagan and Kalamalka Lakes by week's end.