



Science. Management. Governance.

BOARD REPORT: November 3, 2009

1450 KLO Road, Kelowna, BC V1W 3Z4 P 250.469.6271 F 250.762.7011

www.obwb.ca

OBWB Directors

Stu Wells - Chair, Mayor, Town of Osoyoos

Rick Fairbairn - Vice Chair, Regional District North Okanagan, Area D

James Baker - Mayor, District of Lake Country

Bernie Bauer - Chair, Okanagan Water Stewardship Council

Buffy Baumbrough - Councillor, City of Vernon

Michael Brydon - Director, Regional District Okanagan-Similkameen, Area F

Gordon Clark - Councillor, District of Summerland

Doug Findlater - Mayor, District of West Kelowna

Graeme James - Councillor, City of Kelowna

Gyula Kiss - Councillor, District of Coldstream

Toby Pike - Chair, Water Supply Association of BC

Timothy Manuel - Chiefs' Executive Council, Okanagan Nation Alliance

The next regular meeting of the OBWB is scheduled for 10am on <u>December 1, 2009</u> at the Regional District of Okanagan-Similkameen office.

Okanagan Basin Water Board Meeting Highlights

Welcome to New OBWB Director: Councillor Graeme James, City of Kelowna, has been appointed to fill the vacant position left by Brian Given's passing. Many thanks to Alternate Director Jim Edgson for his contributions to the OBWB over the past two months.

Sustainable Planning for the Okanagan Environment (Spoke): The OBWB has received a \$40,000 grant from Environment Canada to complete development of the Spoke web portal - a hub for land use, water, habitat and wildlife information in the Okanagan region used to support planning and decision-making. Project partners include the Okanagan Collaborative Conservation Program, the South Okanagan-Similkameen Conservation Partnership, UBC Okanagan, and the Okanagan Sustainability Institute.

Modernization of the *Water Act*: Ministry of Environment staff have requested OBWB input for the BC *Water Act* modernization process. The Okanagan Water Stewardship Council is developing draft recommendations for the OBWB's consideration in their response to the Ministry.

New Sewage Facilities Grant Program Application Form: As part of the ongoing process to modernize administration of all programs, the OBWB adopted a new application form for the sewage facilities grant program. The new format will improve award tracking and provide an extra layer of accountability for the program. These grants are awarded to municipalities to reduce water pollution in Okanagan lakes, streams and aquifers.

Watermilfoil Update: Rototilling will begin this month with launches planned for the Vernon Arm and the Westside areas of Okanagan Lake, as well as the south end of Wood Lake. The Morooka, our new shallow-water rotovator, has been completely rebuilt and is ready for use in areas such as the Kelowna foreshore.

OBWB Budget Approval: OBWB Directors approved the 2010-11 OBWB budget, which will now be forwarded to the regional districts. The budget includes funds for sewage facilities grants, watermilfoil management, Water Conservation and Quality Improvement grants, and projects developing water science and best practices for local government management of drought, climate change and cumulative water quality impacts.

For more information, please visit: www.OBWB.ca