

Okanagan Water Stewardship Council

technical advisory committee

Council Members:

(Term 7: November 2016 - April 2018)

Appointed representatives / alternates

AAFC, Research Branch
 Denise Neilsen / Scott Smith

APEGBC
 Don Dobson / Sue Lapp / Shawn Badasha

BC Agriculture Council
 Hans Buchler

 BC Cattlemen's Association Lee Hesketh / Linda Allison

• BC Fruit Growers Association Kevin Day / Richard McDonald

• BC Ground Water Association Marta Green / Remi Alard

• BC Ministry of Agriculture Andrew Petersen / Stephanie Tam

• BC Water Supply Association Toby Pike / Patti Meger

• BC Wildlife Federation – Region 8 Doug Flintotf / Lorne Davies

• Canadian Water Resources Association Brian Guy/ Rod MacLean/ Dwayne Meredith

• City of Kelowna Andrew Reeder/Jason Angus

• City of Vernon Ed Stranks / Rob Miles

• Environment Canada – Pacific & Yukon Kendall Woo / Ian Rogalski

• Fisheries and Oceans Canada Doug Edwards

• Interior Health Rob Birtles / Judi Ekkert

 Irrigation Council of BC
 Ted Van der Gulik / Bruce Naka

Kelowna Chamber of Commerce
 Caroline Grover /Tom Dyas / Jeff Robinson

• Ministry of FLNRO: Fish/Wildlife Grant Furness / Lora Nield

 Ministry of FLNRO: Resource Mgmt Robert Warner / Ray Crampton

Okanagan Collaborative Conservation
 Scott Boswell / Tanis Gieselman

Okanagan College
 Allison MacMillan / Rob St Onge

Okanagan Mainline Real Estate Board David
 O'Keefe / Howard Newfeld

Okanagan Nation Alliance
 Zoe Eyjolfson /Elinor McGrath /Natasha Lukey

RD of Central Okanagan
 Margaret Bakelaar / Chris Radford

RD of North Okanagan
 Renee Clark / Jennifer Miles
 RD of Okanagan –Similkameen

Zoe Kirk / Evelyn Riechert

Shuswap Okanagan Forestry Association
 Murray Wilson / Michael Bragg

UBC Okanagan
 Bernard Bauer / Carolina Restrepo-Tamayo



November 2010

Council Report Highlights

- Election of Chair and Vice Chair for the new 18 month term
 - Brian Guy, Chair
 - o Denise Neilsen, Vice Chair
- Term 7 work plan development areas of focus (proposed):
 - o Update the Okanagan Sustainable Water Strategy
 - Update the Phase 2 Okanagan Supply/Demand project
 - Continue to provide input on the WSA
 - o Communication, extension and outreach
 - Develop a decision-making framework for water licensing decisions using EFNs
 - Source water protection
 - Drought and flood planning
- National Energy Board review panel announced (ECCC)
- Marni Turek, new UBCO Watershed Management Research Extension Facilitator
- RDCO working on foreshore inventory mapping
- Greater Vernon Water Utility has gone to Electronic Reader Transmitters
- BC Groundwater Assn working on flowing artesian well policy & management
- UBCO BRAES Institute hosting Okanagan Research Forum (December
 5)
- Okanagan Drought Triggers Workshop, November 16th
- CWRA conference on climate extremes, January 27, 2017 in Ottawa

Project Status: 2016-18 term (TBC)

SWS Ref. #	Project Name	None	Fair	Good	Excellent	Complete
	Update Okanagan Sustainable Water Strategy	~				
	Update Phase II Okanagan Supply/Demand study	~				
	Water Sustainability Act input	~				
	Communication, extension and outreach	~				
	EFNs – decision making framework	~				
2.3	Source water protection	~				
	Drought and flood planning	~				

For more information contact:

Nelson Jatel, Water Stewardship Director
Okanagan Basin Water board
nelson.jatel@obwb.ca (250) 469-6295

www.obwb.ca/wsc

Progress Status