

Okanagan Water Stewardship Council

technical advisory committee

Council Members:

(Term 7: November 2016 - April 2018)

Appointed representatives / alternates

- AAFC, Research Branch
 Denise Neilsen / Scott Smith
- APEGBC
 Don Dobson / Sue Lapp / Shawn Badasha
- BC Agriculture Council Hans Buchler
- BC Cattlemen's Association Lee Hesketh / Linda Allison
- BC Fruit Growers Association
 Kevin Day / Richard McDonald
- BC Ground Water Association Marta Green / Remi Alard
- BC Ministry of Agriculture
 Andrew Petersen / Stephanie Tam
- BC Water Supply Association
 Bob Hrasko / Patti Meger
- BC Wildlife Federation Region 8

 Doug Flintotf / Lorne Davies
- Canadian Water Resources Association Brian Guy/ Rod MacLean/ Dwayne Meredith
- City of Kelowna
 Andrew Reeder/Jason Angus
- City of Vernon Ed Stranks / Rob Miles
- Environment Canada Pacific & Yukon Kendall Woo / Ian Rogalski
- Fisheries and Oceans Canada Doug Edwards
- Interior Health Rob Birtles / Judi Ekkert
- Irrigation Council of BC
 Ted Van der Gulik / Bruce Naka
- Kelowna Chamber of Commerce
 Caroline Grover /Tom Dyas / Jeff Robinson
- Ministry of FLNRO: Fish/Wildlife Grant Furness / Lora Nield
- Ministry of FLNRO: Resource Mgmt
 Robert Warner / Ray Crampton
- Okanagan Collaborative Conservation
 Scott Boswell / Tanis Gieselman
- Okanagan College
 Allison MacMillan / Rob St Onge
- Okanagan Mainline Real Estate Board David
 O'Keefe / Howard Newfeld
- Okanagan Nation Alliance
 Zoe Eyjolfson /Elinor McGrath /Natasha Lukey
- RD of Central Okanagan
 Margaret Bakelaar / Chris Radford

 RD of North Okanagan
- Renee Clark / Jennifer Miles
 RD of Okanagan –Similkameen
 Zoe Kirk / Evelyn Riechert
- Shuswap Okanagan Forestry Association
 Murray Wilson / Michael Bragg
- UBC Okanagan
 Bernard Bauer / Carolina Restrepo-Tamayo



December 2010

Council Report Highlights

- OBWB undertakes another round of communication with Federal/ Provincial governments pushing for a stronger protection from invasive mussels
- Term 7 work plan development areas of focus (finalized):
 - Update the Okanagan Sustainable Water Strategy
 - o Update the Phase 2 Okanagan Supply/Demand project
 - Policy
 - Communication, extension and outreach
 - Develop a decision-making framework for water licensing decisions using EFNs
 - Source water protection
 - Drought and flood planning
 - Irrigation Management
- Presentation by Stewart Cohen Climate Impacts on water Availability in Canada – a need for collaborative adaptation
- Presentation by Linda Nowlan Scaling up the Fisheries Act
- Zoning protocol to regulate development about large lakes pending approval
- FLNRO livestock watering regulation under development
- Drought status outreach project two pilot projects with agricultural communities and water utilities
- RDCO and RDNO working on Regional Growth Strategy indicators and priorities; RDOS rewriting their water regulation by-laws
- BCWF conservation application has been launched for i-phone users
- WCQI grant application deadline: February 17 at 4pm
- CWRA annual national conference will take place in June 2017 in Lethbridge.

WSC Working Committees: 2016-18 term

	P	Progress Status				
Committee	None	Fair	Good	Excellent	Complete	
Communication, extension and outreach	~					
EFNs Phase III – decision making framework	>					
Update Okanagan Supply and Demand Study	~					
Irrigation Management	~					
Update Okanagan Sustainable water Strategy 2.0	~					
Source water protection	~					
Drought and flood planning	~					
Policy	~					

For more information contact:

Nelson Jatel, Water Stewardship Director Okanagan Basin Water board nelson.jatel@obwb.ca (250) 469-6295

www.obwb.ca/wsc