

Okanagan Water Stewardship Council

Technical advisory committee to the OBWB



March 2018

Council Members

(Term 7: November 2016 - April 2018)

Appointed representatives / alternates

•	AAFC,	Research	Branch
	. ,		

Denise Neilsen / Tom Forge

APEGBC

Don Dobson / Susan Lapp / Shawn Badasha

• BC Agriculture Council

Hans Buchler / Christine Dendee

BC Cattlemen's Association

Lee Hesketh / Linda Allison

• BC Fruit Growers Association

Glen Lucas / Kevin Day / Richard McDonald

• BC Ground Water Association

Marta Green / Remi Allard

• BC Ministry of Agriculture

Andrew Petersen / Stephanie Tam

• BC Water Supply Association

Bob Hrasko / Patti Meger

• BC Wildlife Federation - Region 8

Doug Flintoft / Lorne Davies

• Canadian Water Resources Association

Brian Guy/ Dwayne Meredith

• City of Kelowna

Rod MacLean

City of Vernon

Ed Stranks / Rob Miles

Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Doug Edwards

Interior Health

Rob Birtles / Judi Ekkert

• Kelowna Chamber of Commerce

Tom Dyas / Jeff Robinson

• IIABC

Ted van der Gulik / Bruce Naka

• Ministry of FLNRO: Fish/Wildlife

Lora Nield

Ministry of FLNRO: Resource Mgmt Pobort Warner / Pay Crameton

Robert Warner / Ray Crampton

• Okanagan Collaborative Conservation

Scott Boswell / Tanis Gieselman

Okanagan College

Allison MacMillan / Rob St Onge

• Okanagan Mainline Real Estate Board

David O'Keefe / Howard Neufeld

RD of Central Okanagan

Danika Dudzik

• RD of North Okanagan

Renee Clark / Jennifer Miles

• RD of Okanagan -Similkameen

Zoe Kirk / Evelyn Riechert

• Shuswap Okanagan Forestry Association

Murray Wilson / Michael Bragg

UBC Okanagan

Bernard Bauer / Carolina Restrepo-Tamayo

• Okanagan Nation Alliance (observers)

Zoe Eyjolfson / Elinor McGrath / Natasha Lukey

ECCC Canada- Pacific&Yukon (observers)
 Kendall Woo / lan Rogalski

Council Meeting Highlights*

- Senate standing committee on climate change impacts on agriculture and forestry (March 19th); members invited to discuss through conference call or submit feedback directly with Dr. Craig Nichol
- RDNO completed project on Kalamalka Lake vulnerability mapping
- Agriculture Waste Regulation is now updated and renamed as Nutrient Management regulation
- City of Kelowna exploring: source water protection and new hydrometric stations on Mill Creek to support flood and drought management.

Committee reports (chair): presentations

 Communication 	improving internal communication between
(Zoe Kirk):	Council members & youth engagement
 Decision support tools (Brian Guy): 	supporting a process for imp`lementing EFNs by water license decision makers
 Supply & Demand update (Denise Neilsen): 	updating 2007-10 Okanagan Basin Water Supply study
 Irrigation Management (Bruce Naka): 	improving irrigation management and efficiencies
 Sustainable Water Strategy 2.0 (Kellie Garcia): 	developing a new & relevant water strategy
 Drought & Flood Planning (Scott Boswell): 	improving communication & planning
 Source Protection & Wetlands (Renee Clark): 	supporting strategic goal of excellent source water quality (drinkable, swimmable, fishable)
• Policy (Rob Birtles):	supporting dialogue and leadership on Okanagan water policies

Upcoming water events:

April 12-13: Spring workshop on Water Supply Association (Kelowna)

• April 15: Ground Water Association's AGM (Langley)

• May 28-June 1: National CWRA conference (Victoria)

• October 17 – 18: Environmental Flow Needs conference (Kelowna)

* Council meeting minutes are posted at: www.obwb.ca/wsc

For more information contact:

Nelson Jatel, Water Stewardship Director Okanagan Basin Water board

nelson.jatel@obwb.ca (250) 469-6295

www.obwb.ca/wsc