

Okanagan Water Stewardship Council

Technical advisory committee to the OBWB



April 2018

Council Members

(Term 7: November 2016 - April 2018)

Appointed representatives / alternates

AAFC, Research Branch

Denise Neilsen / Tom Forge

APEGBC

Don Dobson / Susan Lapp / Shawn Badasha

• BC Agriculture Council

Hans Buchler / Christine Dendee

BC Cattlemen's Association

Lee Hesketh / Linda Allison

BC Fruit Growers Association
 Glen Lucas / Kevin Day / Richard McDonald

BC Ground Water Association

Marta Green / Remi Allard

BC Ministry of Agriculture

Andrew Petersen / Stephanie Tam

BC Water Supply Association
 Bob Hrasko / Patti Meger

BC Wildlife Federation – Region 8
 Doug Flintoft / Lorne Davies

Canadian Water Resources Association

Brian Guy/ Dwayne Meredith

• City of Kelowna Rod MacLean

City of Vernon

Ed Stranks / Rob Miles

Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Doug Edwards

Interior Health

Rob Birtles / Judi Ekkert

• Kelowna Chamber of Commerce

Tom Dyas / Jeff Robinson

IIABC

Ted van der Gulik / Bruce Naka

• Ministry of FLNRO: Fish/Wildlife

Lora Nield

Ministry of FLNRO: Resource Mgmt
 Pobort Warner / Pay Crampton

Robert Warner / Ray Crampton

Okanagan Collaborative Conservation

Scott Boswell / Tanis Gieselman

Okanagan College

Allison MacMillan / Rob St Onge

Okanagan Mainline Real Estate Board
 David O'Koofe / Howard Novifold

David O'Keefe / Howard Neufeld

RD of Central Okanagan

Danika Dudzik

• RD of North Okanagan

Renee Clark / Jennifer Miles

• RD of Okanagan -Similkameen

Zoe Kirk / Evelyn Riechert

Shuswap Okanagan Forestry Association

Murray Wilson / Michael Bragg

• UBC Okanagan

Bernard Bauer / Carolina Restrepo-Tamayo

• Okanagan Nation Alliance (observers)

Zoe Eyjolfson / Elinor McGrath / Natasha Lukey

• ECCC Canada- Pacific&Yukon (observers)

Kendall Woo / Ian Rogalski

Council Meeting Highlights*

- Term 8 WSC Chair and Vise-Chair election took place Elected Chair Dr. Denise Neilson and Vise-Chair – Scott Boswell;
- Term 8 Work Plan development workshop will take place during WSC meeting in June:
- Poster session summarizing the work of WSC committees in Term 7 review and feedback;
- Dr. Anna Warwick Sears announced receiving \$1.45 million grant for LIDAR survey in the Okanagan basin from B.C. Emergency Management.
- OBWB administered Water Conservation and Quality Improvement (WCQI) grant on the way

Presentation by Nicole Pyett, FLNRORD, 'Joint Compliance Projects for Groundwater Protection' — shared the outcomes of inter-agency provincial pilot initiative aimed at assessing the state of compliance in well construction and maintenance. The purpose of inspections conducted by government staff with different mandate included evaluating the conditions and where necessary indicating non-compliance and referring to resources needed to improve the overall as well as licensing compliance.

Round-table updates:

- Dr. Warwick Sears mentioned the upcoming provincial audit of drinking water systems and encouraged Source Water & Wetland Protection committee to prepare a letter for the Auditor General.
- City of Kelowna and regional districts (RDSO and NORD) take precautionary measures anticipating possible flooding
- M.Ag. New 5-year program Canadian Agricultural Partnership will start following the completion of previous 'Growing Forward 2' program; Ministry staff continues to run wells licensing workshops across the Province.
- FLNRORD works in progress finalizing action related to emergency flooding in 2017 while preparing for possible emergency response in 2018; landowners need to be communicated the permitted flood protection actions.
- UBCO expanding industry network, joint forestry event held on weekend.
- 2017 Flood & Fire review process completed and report in on the way.
- 2018 Water Supply Webinar takes place on April 16th and May 8th
- Ag and Agri-Food Canada launching landscape-level research to understand agricultural and environmental stressors
- Dr. C. Nichol testified at March Senate Review Agri-food and Forestry session; cutout for written submissions on April 30th.
- Planning guides completed and can be found on the web https://www.civicinfo.bc.ca/planning-guides
- Survey seeking a feedback on WCQI contact James Littley for more information

For more information contact:

Nelson Jatel, Water Stewardship Director Okanagan Basin Water board

nelson.jatel@obwb.ca

(250) 469-6295

www.obwb.ca/wsc