

Okanagan Water Stewardship Council

Technical advisory committee to the OBWB

June 2023

Council Members (Term 11, April 2023-March 2025)

Appointed representatives alternates
AAFC, Research Branch Kirsten Hannam Jesse MacDonald
BC Agriculture Council Hans Buchler
BC Cattlemen's Association Lee Hesketh Keith Manders
BC Fruit Growers Association
Katie Sardinha Glen Lucas Ministry of Forests
Research: Sheena Spencer (Vice Chair) Kristen King RM: Kelly Chiatto Ray Crampton
BC Ground Water Association
Marta Green BC Water Supply Association
Patti Meger Bob Hrasko Shawn Grundy
BC Wildlife Federation – Region 8 Lorne Davies Bill Bosch
Canadian Water Resources Association Brian Guy (past chair)
City of Kelowna Rod MacLean Ed Hoppe
City of Penticton Alistair Wardlaw Jonathan Chu
City of Vernon TBD
Fisheries and Oceans Canada Lynda Ritchie Sue Lemke Teri Ridley
Environment and Climate Change Canada
Jeremy Fyke (Chair) Dave Hutchinson Alyssa Charbonneau • Emerita Denise Neilsen (past chair)
Engineers & Geoscientists BC
TBD • Interior Health Deb Eitles L Indi Eldert
Rob Birtles Judi Ekkert Irrigation Industry Association of BC (IIABC) Brue Male Ted yes der Cullk (sect vise sheir)
Bruce Naka Ted van der Gulik (past vice-chair) Ministry of Agriculture
Stephanie Tam Lindsay King
Ministry of Environment and CC Strategy Kym Keogh Dennis Einarson
Ministry of Land, Water & Resource Stewardship TBD
Okanagan Collaborative Conservation Program Scott Boswell (past Chair)
Okanagan College
Allison O'Neill Rob St Onge • Okanagan Indian Band
Raymond Marchand Patrick Riley • RD Central Okanagan
Jing Niu Brittany Nichols
RD North Okanagan Zee Marcolin Tricia Brett
RD Okanagan –Similkameen Shelley Fiorito
Shuswap Okanagan Forestry Association
Matt Scott Bryan Darroch • Thompson - Okanagan Tourism Association Eve Lawran I Filen Walker - Matthews
Eve Layman Ellen Walker - Matthews University of British Columbia - Okanagan Omic Nickel Margin Turgle
Craig Nichol Marnie Turek Chamber of Commerce – Kelowna
Derek Gratz British Columbia Institute of Agrologists Scott Smith Theresa Loewen

Council Meeting Highlights

Dr. Peter Millard shares insights on New Zealand's environmental policies Dr. Millard, General Manager of Science at Manaaki Whenua Landcare Research in New Zealand, presented to the council on the country's approach to environmental issues, with a focus on water quality.

He spotlighted five pivotal areas driving their policies: enhancement of soil, water, and land; restoration of biodiversity; combating invasive species; addressing climate change; and balancing human interaction with the environment. Dr. Millard emphasized New Zealand's commitment to major environmental milestones, such as establishing a policy for freshwater management, striving for carbon neutrality by 2050, and aiming for an invasive species-free environment in the same timeframe. He brought the country's current environmental status to life by sharing land-use maps and the distribution of water quality parameters.

A notable point of discussion was the peaceful land treaty between the government and Māori people. Also significant was the dairy-supply corporation's mandate requiring milk producers to fence cattle, illustrating the private sector's important role in safeguarding the environment. These insights offered the council valuable lessons from New Zealand's proactive environmental strategies.

Okanagan Water Stewardship Council (OWSC)'s work plan for Term 11 outlined

As we embark on Term 11 (April 2023 – March 2025), the OWSC has presented a draft work plan encompassing four dedicated committees:

- 1. Water Quality Monitoring and Improvement will focus on the urban impact on water quality, monitoring, communication, by-law, and assessment of emerging contaminants.
- 2. Agricultural Water, Irrigation, and Food Security will emphasize economic analysis of irrigated lands, irrigation training, water reserves for food security, and traditional food protection.
- 3. Responsible Water Management aims to develop core knowledge, understanding, and awareness to support an ethical space with regional Indigenous partners on various challenges.
- 4. Policy Committee will develop water policies relevant to Okanagan and respond to board policy development as needed.

Dr. Sheena Spencer elected new Vice-Chair of OWSC

We are delighted to announce that Dr. Sheena Spencer, nominated by Allison O'Neill of Okanagan College, has been elected as the Vice-Chair of the WSC Council for Term 11. She will be working alongside Council Chair Dr. Jeremy Fyke. Anticipating her valuable contributions, we look forward to a productive tenure in this role.

For more information contact:

Nelson Jatel, Water Stewardship Director Okanagan Basin Water board nelson.jatel@obwb.ca | (250) 469-6295

The Council provides technical advice to the Board & connects the broader Okanagan community.